RedNotebook in Ubuntu Karmic

Great news! The Karmic Koala has just arrived and I like the new version very much. The coolest thing however is that now you can install RedNotebook directly from the new Software-Center or on the command line just by typing:

sudo apt-get install rednotebook

Unfortunately Ubuntu doesn’t always ship the latest versions of some packages. In Karmic you find RedNotebook version 0.8.1. If you want to get a newer version, follow the instructions here to add the new Karmic repository.

Have a nice day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to RedNotebook in Ubuntu Karmic

  1. David says:

    Jendrik,

    Did you know RedNoteBook is the only note taking platform available on Ubuntu that lets you tag your entries?

    This is such a useful feature that I would love to see an option on RedNoteBook to remove the calandar, so you can add as many entries you want on a single day, and give entries any title you want.

    Let me know what you think, and keep up the good work!

    David

  2. Chris says:

    Hey guys I just wanted to say thanks, this is a great tool and I use it at work every day to keep myself organized and track what I have done/need to do. I also had a question, is there any place where people can go to post/download templates that they create? I think it would be pretty cool to create templates for different entries and be able to share them with other RedNotebook users. Keep up the good work and thanks.

    • Jendrik says:

      Hi,
      thanks for the comment. I like your templates idea. If you have any templates you can send them to me per mail and I’ll probably just include them in the program for now.

  3. Edward says:

    I really like your application. I use it a lot!

    Thanks for this!

  4. Michael says:

    Note sure where to put this.

    I just installed the latest RedNotebook on Karmic and checked the spellchecker box. Misspelled words are not being underlined. Just a heads up. Love the application!

    Mike

  5. arlor says:

    Works great, thanks a lot

  6. Magnus L says:

    Hi!

    A question: is there a way to set a default category to the entries? I would like this, so that I can choose that category in the search box and list all entries.

    Else: is there another way to just list and browse all entries?

    Magnus L

  7. Magnus L says:

    In fact, it is two questions, I think:

    1. is there a way to list all entries (other than using one tag/catagory on all, and choosing that in the search window)?

    2. is there a way to set a default tag/category, so every new entry has this even without my manually adding it? So I can remove it if I wish, but need not add it to every entry I want to have it in.

    Yes, I did read the manual. However, I did not find answers to this. Did I miss something?

    Magnus

    • Jendrik says:

      Hi Magnus,

      1. I’m afraid there isn’t. You can however export your journal and see all entries at once.

      2. No, this is not possible.

      HTH, Jendrik

Comments are closed.