Wanted: Windows Packager

You may have realized that there is only a Windows installer for version 0.4.0 and none for the 0.5.x series. That’s due to the problem, that I’d like to focus on adding new features and don’t have the time to make windows installers. I don’t use windows so it’s difficult to build and test RedNotebook there.

Nevertheless it would be nice to have an installer for all the windows folks out there. So here comes my question:

Do you want to make a windows installer for RedNotebook?

You have the one time opportunity for fame and fortune here! I guess making the installer shouldn’t be too difficult, it just has to be done and I can help you if you run into troubles.

So if you think you’re up to the task, just contact me. That would be great!

Update

I have finally succeeded to build an MS Windows installer for RedNotebook. Please try it out and tell me if it worked on your platform.

This entry was posted in RedNotebook. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanted: Windows Packager

  1. blahcity says:

    Nice tool, worked great on Ubuntu, but had to have it on Windows…

    To hackinstall rednotebook on windows

    * Install [allInOne http://www.bonifazi.eu/appunti/pygtk_windows_installer.exe%5D Python stuff

    * Install [yaml http://pyyaml.org/download/pyyaml/PyYAML-3.08.win32-py2.5.exe%5D

    * Download rednotebook [source http://downloads.sourceforge.net/rednotebook/rednotebook-0.6.3.tar.gz%5D and uncompress (eg to c:\)

    * Doubleclick rednotebook.py file (eg C:\rednotebook-0.6.3\rednotebook\redNotebook.py)

    Note: Preview opens a new Browser Page/Tab, I don’t know how to set up xulrunner. No biggie, everything else works fine

    • Jendrik says:

      Nice work there. Actually it is not possible (correct me if I’m wrong) to embed xulrunner in a PyGTK application on windows at the moment. So the external preview will have to do.

      In the future I hope to have rich text editing as an alternative to markup editing, so there will not be any need of a preview anymore.

  2. Ralph says:

    The installer for 0.7.4 worked fine for me, so I’m waiting for the 0.7.5 installer to appear on sf.

    Thanks for your great tool!

Comments are closed.